part Club Cluster 11 DG Visit Event : PORTRAIT of a thrillseeker Part 3 on the District Governor rollercoaster : part Club Cluster 11 DG Visit Event : Nukualofa, Tonga – Apia, Samoa – Pagpago American Samoa

16 Nov

 30 October ROTARY NUKUALOFA DG Visit Event, Davina House, Nukualofa, Tonga

from Sharon and me –Malo e lelei, Bula,Good Day, Bon Jour, Talofa, Kia orana Mauri..Our surname is INTERNATIONAL.

This is our first visit to Tonga – and after a day here we wonder why its taken us so long-it is truly the Friendly Islands

I have always wanted to come to Tonga – as an architect I find your masi much more subtle in colour and pattern than my birth country Fiji, your constitutional monarchy has always intrigued me, Fiji born I am well versed in the Tongan chief Ma-afu’s influence on Fiji’s ceding to Britain, and like any New Zealander I do love rugby and know of several tongans in the All Blacks with possibly the most famous being JONAH –and NOW – Rotary has provided the opportunity for Sharon and I to come and getting to know all of you.

My Rotary Family and  friends

This is my third individual club DG Visit Event – and what a great idea to hold it on an open air rooftop.

As  we clamber on the DG rollercoaster to unleash our potential –  indeed- you can say to GO FOR GOLD in this Olympic year

I want to thank all of you for making this happen and special thanks to President Amanaki please stand and  take a bow. “I CANT DO IT ALONE. THANK YOU FOR GETTING BEHIND ME.”  

I must acknowledge the presence of your charter member  Maso.

I must especially recognise the PARTNERS – thank you for giving up another evening for Rotary.

It is special for Sharon and me to be here – we are here to serve so do make the most of our visit to benefit Rotary Nukualofa.

Last week Sharon and I were at  Invercargill Zone 7B Institute –this annual event where past,present and incoming governors meet to share ideas – what did we learn?

We learnt we SHOULD Celebrate our achievements AND we SHOULD feel good enough  about ourselves AND we SHOULD therefore make the effort to share our Rotary Moments. This years conference theme CREATE A RIPPLE – CAST THE FIRST STONE – and MAKE A DIFFERENCE!  provided all the ingredients to turn the ripple into a tidal wave for action.

We learnt that Change and Continuity IS inter-dependent but before I tell about that I want to tell you about 3 Takeaway messages I bring back from Institute

  1. from RIPE Ron Burton asking us “Would someone join YOUR Rotary Club today”
  2. Sam Johnston student army after the  Christchurch earthquake observing  “ We must ask for permission to help others”
  3. Howard Tong Zone Public Image Co-ordinator urging we must move past the statistics and share the WHY of Rotary –- WHY we serve – and share with passion

Our DG year group session agreed we need  Vibrant Clubs to revitalise Rotary. Want to be a VIBRANT club? I suggest Taking action on  the Presidential Citation NOW ; this  is more than a Certificate accomplishing its requirements ; this provides Opportunities to engage all your members . Finally a VIBRANT club has no trouble – asking for permission to help- telling our stories with passion –  attracting and retaining members

This 2012-2013 year we have 29 ways or ideas in the Citation document to engage our members or, put another way 29 ideasfor each of your members to find –THEIR hot button in Rotary  and play their part in a VIBRANT Club. ………..

2 November ROTARY APIA DG Visit Event, Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, Apia, Samoa

How are you doing. I have been looking forward to returning to Apia since coming here for LETS earlier this year and Sharon has been primed in anticipation.

As I might have mentioned the first time, I have always wanted to come to Apia ( in person)– as I have always felt a connection. My parents came here on their honeymoon. As a 3rd generation Fijian and having lived most of my life in Fiji and NZ how can I not love rugby and Manu Samoa especially when we manage to beat you in the sevens. As an architect there is also Robert Louis Stevenson’s Valima and Aggie Greys so yes I can go on–and NOW – I can add you my Apia Rotary family-Rotary has provided the opportunity for me to return with Sharon and getting to know all of you better.

……from Sharon and me. Talofa lava, Bula, Good Day, Bon Jour, Kia Orana,  Malo eh lehleh ee, Mauri..Our surname is INTERNATIONAL.

My Rotary Family and friends this is my FOURTH individual club DG Visit Event.

It is special for Sharon and me to be here – we are here to serve so do make the most of our visit to benefit Rotary Apia.

2 weeks ago Sharon and I were at  Invercargill Zone 7B Institute –this annual event where past,present and incoming governors meet to share ideaswhat did we learn?

We learnt we SHOULD Celebrate our achievements AND we SHOULD feel good enough  about ourselves AND we SHOULD therefore make the effort to share our Rotary Moments. This years conference theme CREATE A RIPPLE – CAST THE FIRST STONE – and MAKE A DIFFERENCE!  provided all the ingredients to turn the ripple into a tidal wave for action……..

In January Sharon and I returned  from Rotary International Assembly in San Diego where we and another 530 DGsE and partners were given the final polish … …, we made many lifelong friendships and- came away with our Theme for the New Rotary Year. PEACE THROUGH SERVICE…

The personal Takeaway for me from IA  is an oldie but a goodie.

Working Together we can accomplish Anything. This is the message that we brought back for you and  your clubs. This is also the message that we have brought back to be carried out beyond your clubs . AS it is in the Beatles song- All you need is Love. 

So in this Rotary  year you could say, we will be working on our relationships with each other as we go about doing good in the world.

in 2012-2013 we will have our clusters of clubs working together with your AGs on 3 priorities.

Clubs working together -Making all Rotary activities  Events  memorable ones (LIKE THIS ONE-a kickstart being our new DG Visit format),

Clubs working together on al least one  MG to increase awareness of our charity of choice TRF – and by doing so-keeping our promise to the world finishing the job with help from the Gates Foundation- Eliminating Polio ; and preparing for the bigger, bolder, sustainable projects that the new simplified grant making model Future Vision will bring,

Clubs working together on a PI initiative as we collectively learn to share our Rotary Moments and tell our MANY stories -effectively  to our communities

We will all be working together on these 3 priorities with an emphasis on Peace in 2 ways

  1. by meeting the Presidential Citation Peace Challenge-conducting a  club or community Peace Forum or a service project focussed on Peace And
  2. by sending at least 2 NG candidates from D9920 to the Peace Forums in Honolulu and Hiroshima……..

8 November ROTARY PAGOPAGO DG Visit Event, Goat Island Cafe, Sadies by the Sea, Pagopago, American Samoa

This is our first visit to PagoPago – and after almost 2 days here we wondering why iits taken us so long.

I have always wanted to come to Pagpago( in person)– as I have always felt a connection. My parents came here on their honeymoon. As a seafood lover especially tuna I am aware of Pagopago’s tuna canneries. As an architect I can appreciate the comfort and relaxed south sea style of Sadie’s by the Sea-  so yes I can go on–and NOW – I can add you my PagoPago Rotary family-Rotary has provided the opportunity for Sharon and I to come and getting to know all of you – We do feel very comfortable and at home here – this is  a Pagopago club  inhouse joke I picked up – I must apologise on behalf of my architect colleague Joe Yandall that I too am not a “qualified engineer’ – I have also find I have  a cousin in law here in a real engineer  Will Sword – 

……from Sharon and me. Talofa lava, Bula,Good Day, Bon Jour, Kia Orana,  Malo eh lehleh ee, Mauri..Our surname is INTERNATIONAL.

My Rotary Family and friendsThis is my FIFTH individual club DG Visit Event – and what a fantastic Rotary Open Day you have organised. You have friends, sponsors,RYLA and PACE alumni even a future Rotarian in young 2 year old Zac Young

I want to thank you all for for making this happen and special thanks to President Jackie and scretary Roy, please stand and  take a bow. “I CANT DO IT ALONE. THANK YOU FOR GETTING BEHIND ME.”  

I must  acknowledge the presence of your key sponsors and friends who are here tonight- some of you into your second generation of  loyal and committed support of Rotary Pagopago – thank you so much for your ongoing support. At this point I am pleased to announce ROTARY PAGOPAGO is considering inviting you all to be members of the inauguaral Rotary  Community Corps of the Rotary Club Pagopago .

I must especially recognise the PARTNERS – thank you for giving up another evening for Rotary – can someone tell me what day it is-

 It is special for Sharon and me to be here – we are here to serve so do make the most of our visit to benefit Rotary PagoPago.

2 weeks ago Sharon and I were at  Invercargill Zone 7B Institute –this annual event where past,present and incoming governors meet to share ideaswhat did we learn?

We learnt we SHOULD Celebrate our achievements AND we SHOULD feel good enough  about ourselves AND we SHOULD therefore make the effort to share our Rotary Moments. This years conference theme CREATE A RIPPLE – CAST THE FIRST STONE – and MAKE A DIFFERENCE!  provided all the ingredients to turn the ripple into a tidal wave for action.

We learnt that Change and Continuity IS inter-dependent  these are 2 pictures of our daughter Ruby before and after chemotherapybut before I tell about that I want to tell you about 3 Takeaway messages I bring back from Institute

  1. from RIPE Ron Burton asking us “Would someone join YOUR Rotary Club today”
  2. Sam Johnston student army after the  Christchurch earthquake observing  “ We must ask for permission to help others”
  3. Howard Tong Zone Public Image Co-ordinator urging we must move past the statistics and share the WHY of Rotary –- WHY we serve – and share with passion

Our DG year group session agreed we need  Vibrant Clubs to revitalise Rotary. Want to be a VIBRANT club? I suggest Taking action on  the Presidential Citation NOW ; this  is more than a Certificate accomplishing its requirements ; this provides Opportunities to engage all your members . Finally a VIBRANT club has no trouble – asking for permission to help- telling our stories with passion –  attracting and retaining members

This 2012-2013 year we have 29 ways or ideas in the Citation document to engage our members or, put another way 29 ideasfor each of your members to find –THEIR hot button in Rotary  and play their part in a VIBRANT Club.

 In January Sharon and I returned home   from Rotary International Assembly in San Diego where we and another 530 DGsE and partners were given the final polish, we made many lifelong friendships and- came away with our Theme for the New Rotary Year. PEACE THROUGH SERVICE.

This theme for 2012-13 in many ways is unsurprising  coming from a Rotary International president from Japan . Sakuji Tanaka also announced his plans for 3 global Peace Forums to be  held in Berlin, Honolulu,  and Hiroshima. Historically memorable because of the Wall, Pearl Harbor,  and the H-Bomb. President Tanaka goes on to say that everything we do as Rotarians  in our families  and our communities  help build Peace .Indeed you could say the business of Rotary is Peace.

The personal Takeaway for me from IA  is an oldie but a goodie.

Working Together we can accomplish Anything. This is the message that we brought back for you and  your clubs. This is also the message that we have brought back to be carried out beyond your clubs . As it is in the Beatles song- All you need is Love. 

So in this Rotary  year you could say, we will be working on our relationships with each other as we go about doing good in the world…..

 

 Early Bird registrations on or before 18 February 2013

Hands up those who have been to a Rotary conference?

Did you enjoy yourselves?

Well in 2012-2013 in Rotorua we are aiming to DOUBLE your enjoyment as we are having a joint District conference – Pushing Boundaries with 9940 …. you could say we have rotary in the  south  pacific  and the north island covered

Here is a short video of other Rotarians ( you may recognise some from the  international A-list ) who think you should ALL  be Pushing Boundaries in Rotorua in 2013.

Leave a Reply

