Round 2 FIJI Club and Cluster DG Visit Events : PORTRAIT of a thrillseeker Part 3 on the District Governor rollercoaster : Round 2 FIJI Club and Cluster DG Visit Events

3 Oct

24 September : evening DG Visit Event Rotary TAVEUNI, TovuTovu Resort, Matei.

New Generations month coming to a close with a flourish with children of Rotarians, Partners, Families , Visiting  Rotarians form REDONDO BEACH, USA and TEMPLESTOWE, Australia and, Friends participating in this Event.

How are you doing. This is Sharon’s first visit to Taveuni – Fiji’s garden island– and after a day here she is wanting to stay longer – and its always full-on when we meet up with President Geoff.

I have fond memories of Taveuni –  especially flying in  over the coconuts into Matei –every week for about a year or so -I cut my architectural teeth here when I first returned to practise in Fiji- working on the Soqulu Development  — and NOW – another reason to be here – Rotary and getting to know all of you. Thank you for your warm welcome.

The reputation of your President is huge in the Rotary World and we at District Leadership are simply in awe of the legacy that Rotary Taveuni have in its community. Yours is truly a club punching well above its weight and you already practise and made it an artform- what I about to convey as my mantra or core message to our District , our clubs and our rotarians in 2012-2013 – Working Together.

from Sharon and me. Bula,Good Day, Bon Jour,kia orana, Talofa, Malo eh lehleh ee, Mauri..Our surname is INTERNATIONAL.

This my second individual club DG Visit Event – we were in Rarotonga 2 weeks ago. There I learnt a phrase kari-mana-manata No Problem- that is definitely what I know of and have seen with the way Rotary Taveuni tackles projects

As we clamber on the DG rollercoaster to unleash our potential –  indeed- you can say to GO FOR GOLD in this Olympic year.

Thanks you all for r making this happen and special thanks to President Geoff please stand and  take a bow. “I CANT DO IT ALONE. THANK YOU FOR GETTING BEHIND ME.”  

Being a kai viti I have family  everywhere and  must acknowledge the presence of my cousin Alan Peterson.

I must also recognise the partners who are here.

22 September : evening MultiCluster- MultiClub DG Visit Event, Shennanigans Wine Bar and Restaurant, Suva : Cluster 1 Rotary SUVA and Cluster 2 Rotary SUVA NORTH, SUVA PENINSULA SUNSET and SUVA EAST 

in my old home-town was a rowdy home-coming celebration in an old haunt – the venue Shennanigans was known as Lucky Eddies made for a boisterous setting to deliver  ( “by stealth”) the DG Message 2012-2013  of 3 Priorities and 2 Peace Emphases –  followed by a personally moving recognition on behalf of his club of an outstanding Rotarian from Rotary SUVA Take Inoue 55 years 100% attendance is an admirable record of committment even in this age of engagement” – then Tapas and Wine-tasting – then Dancing.

Local Rotarian Diplomats from Rotary SUVA included Head of Mission for Australia Glenn Miles and, Deputy Head of Mission for New Zealand Trade Commissioner Peter Lund who enthusiastically endorsed building Peace through Service.

Sharon, AG Malini  and Rotaract Suva President Erica made origami Peace  Cranes to decorate the tables.

How are you doing. Isa its always nice to be back in Fiji – but even better to be back in my old hometown. Thank you for your warm welcome. When I came for Leaders Elect Training Seminar LETS in april I reminded some of you and now seek your indulgence for another trip down memory lane. My old family home is just up the road from our hotel the Holiday Inn- the old Travelodge where I used to fish off the sea wall. I got my first pair of glasses from PDG Asgar Ali, Shaheens father. My father was in Suva City Council with Bob Niranjan’s mother and in Suva Rotary with his Dad. As an Architect you could blame me and Malini’s father for some of the buildings around here. I was made to eat my greens from Michael Yee Joy’s family green-grocers..my first Rotary Club was Suva North – so yes I can go on. …and  YES it is great to be amongst  my Suva Rotary Family .– so the old hometown might have changed somewhat but the warmth of the people in it is still the same.I think I have shaken everyone by the hand but if not I look forward to  getting to know each of you by the end of tonight.from Sharon and me. Bula,Good Day, Bon Jour, kia orana, Talofa, Malo eh lehleh ee, Mauri..Our surname is INTERNATIONAL.Today you are all part of a historical initiative in this District. Our first multi-club and multi cluster DG Visit Event ever in Fiji- and what a great turnout.As we clamber onto the DG rollercoaster to unleash our potential –  indeed- you can say to GO FOR GOLD in this Olympic year  Thank you all for making this happen and special thanks to Presidents( in no particular order…there is no favouritism) of the Rotary Clubs of Suva East, Suva North, Suva Peninsula Sunset  and Suva– Presidents Peter,Griffoon.Barbara and Michael along with AGs Malini and Shaheen. “I CANT DO IT ALONE. THANK YOU FOR GETTING BEHIND ME.”  I must acknowledge the presence of PDG Warwick – I was President of Newmarket club in Warwick’s DG year so we have a special bond- PDG Mike Jaduram from Harbourside Club – and of course Jaduram is synonymous with Labasa- thank you Mike for coming in support of this new DG Visit initiative again.I must recognise all the partners for giving up a Saturday evening for Rotary. Give them a round of applause.I have been on a listening tour since arriving –today I saw the proud legacy of Rotary in your community – we in Auckland are in awe of the way you supported our Rotary Family in the west during the floods – that effort is now written into Rotary history in this district and serves as a fine template for disaster response-  I must acknowledge everyone here – Suva Rotaractors- from our extended Rotary Family– there are a few Friends and Fans here too so this is truly the Rotary Open Day that I wanted to happen………..
 

19 September : evening Cluster 1 NADI-LAUTOKA DG Visit Event, Sitar Restaurant, Nadi 

a ROTARY OPEN DAY with an international cast of the Rotarian Family, Friends and Fans – local and international- delivery of the  DG 2012-2013 Message Working Together on 3 priorities with 2 Peace Emphases – a dual club sergeants’ session – an impromptu presentation of the Food for education support by LAUTOKA rotarian Willie Heywood – a surprise cheque donation from Rotary LAUTOKA to the Food for Education program – scrumptious fiji style goat curry for the DG –

How are you doing. Isa its always nice to be back in Fiji – Thank you for your warm welcome. Nadi and Lautoka I know well having been the architect for many buildings and like elsewhere in Fiji I  have always had extended family here but now my sister Dianna is here too as a partner with KPMG- so many connections.

I think I have shaken everyone by the hand but if not I look forward to  getting to know each of you by the end of tonight.

from Sharon and me. Bula, Good Day, Bon Jour, kia orana, Talofa, Malo eh lehleh ee, Mauri..Our surname is INTERNATIONAL.

My Rotary Family and friends,

Today you are all part of a historical initiative in this District. Our first joint club – cluster DG Visit Event ever in Viti Levu. As we clamber on the DG rollercoaster to  unleash our potential –  indeed- you can say to GO FOR GOLD in this Olympic year

forI want to thank all of you for  making this happen and special thanks to Presidents( in no oparticular order…there is no favouritism) of the Rotary Clubs of Nadi and Lautoka – President Krupesh and Rick please stand and  take a bow. “I CANT DO IT ALONE. THANK YOU FOR GETTING BEHIND ME.”  I must acknowledge the presence of AG Shaheen . and also the partners for giving up a mid week night for Rotary.

I have been on a listening tour since arriving –today I saw the proud legacy of Rotary Nadi and Lautoka in your community. At this point I wish to acknowledge everyone here from our extended Rotary Family for all the support that you provide ……….

Leave a Reply

