Club Cluster 9 DG Visit Event : PORTRAIT of a thrillseeker Part 3 on the District Governor rollercoaster : Club Cluster 9 DG Visit Event

13 Aug

Friday 10 August Cluster 9 District Governor Visit Event, Remuera Golf Club : A Family Affair – finding commonality of Doing Good in our Communities

 Tree of Life  tea-towel design 2012 for Starship by Ruby Seeto – Imagine by John Lennon and sing-along

MC President Mike Jaggs BOTANY EAST TAMAKI commented “It takes one person, one idea and a little support and it is amazing what can be achieved. Ruby is an example to all Rotarians.”

from Sharon and me- and our girls, Good Day, Bon Jour, Bula,, Kia Orana, Talofa, Malo eh lehleh ee, Mauri..Our surname is INTERNATIONAL.

My Rotary Family and friends- Today you are all part of a historical initiative in this District. Our third club cluster DG Visit Event  ever in D9920.

Truly Change and Continuity in motionas we clamber on the District Governor rollercoaster to unleash our potential –  indeed- you can say  to GO FOR GOLD

I want to thank all of you for making this happen and special thanks to AG Colin and Presidents ( in no particular order..there is no favouritism) of the Rotary Clubs of Alfriston, Botany East Tamaki, Ellerslie City Suinrise and Papatoetoe West..Pres Murray Browne,Mike Jaggs, David MacDonald ,Avalua Tavui  and AG Colin please stand and  take a bow. “I CANT DO IT ALONE. THANK YOU ALL FOR GETTING BEHIND ME.” Let me say at this point that this CHANGE in tradition does not preclude me coming to your clubs separately for special events or by invitation. In fact this is the opportunity that Sharon and I are hoping for, so we can return to meet and get our message and updates  to our Rotarians in an informal and personal basis.

I see there is a record number of PDGs here tonight, I salute you and thank you for endorsing this initiative by your presence. There is a fair sprinkling of the District A-list here too, thanks for your support.

I must acknowledge the presence of our youngest daughter  Noon who is very much part of our Ruby story – and also the hand that makes most of my origami Peace cranes.

I would like to say that we are especially touched and humbled to be asked to come here as a family to tell you our Ruby story and I will do my best to be the warm-up act.

I no longer take things for granted. There are things that happen in life we could never have dreamed of. The lesson I  learnt is that while the journey is still good, embrace every minute of it.  Life is short – while the journey is still good, embrace every minute of it.

2 Responses to “Club Cluster 9 DG Visit Event : PORTRAIT of a thrillseeker Part 3 on the District Governor rollercoaster : Club Cluster 9 DG Visit Event”

  1. Leanne Jaggs August 13, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Was a great night, showing the human side of our DG & family. I must say being a “newish” Mum, every time I see the great Video that Ruby has done for Starship, I get tears in my eyes. I just can’t imagine going through what the Seeto family went through.

    Was great to see a great turn out & cluster groups working together.

    PDG Leanne Jaggs

  2. BobN September 5, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Fantastic visit and what a great story- Ruby and Noon !! see you guys soon.

    Bob and Reshika.

Leave a Reply

